Gallery

Earl Sweatshirt – EARL

21 Apr

Earl Sweatshirt – EARL

8.5/10

Tracklist:

  1. Thisniggaugly
  2. Earl
  3. Couch (feat. Tyler, The Creator)
  4. Kill
  5. Wakeupfaggot
  6. Luper
  7. epaR (feat. Vince Staples)
  8. Moonlight (feat. Hodgy Beats)
  9. Pigeons (feat. Wolf Haley)
  10. Stapleton

Maybe I’m just as demented as the Odd Future boys because the thing I like about their music is all the talk about rape and killing people. Earl Sweatshirt is what first attracted me to their music after seeing the music video for “Earl” a while back in the summer. I’ve been a die hard fan ever since. Maybe because that’s all the same shit I’m about (not the raping and killing people) but the “Fuck everyone” and “Don’t give a fuck” kind of mentality. Let’s start off by saying Earl has one of the sickest flows I’ve heard in a while. Not just for his age, but in general. He shows just some of his technical rap skills on “Earl” with these kind of lines: “Go on, suck it up; but hurry, I got nuts to bust and butts to fuck and ups to shut and sluts to fuckin’ uppercut.” He knows how to articulate himself very well especially on “Luper”; expressing his extreme love/hatred for a girl who did him wrong with lines: “When she left it didn’t break my heart it broke my torso, making my eyes ache, stalking her myspace, posted a new pic, I mean it when I say; I fucking hate you.” The average ‘radio rap’ listener will likely not appreciate EARL for it’s hip hop value. Chances are if you’re not a huge hip hop head or ‘fucked in the head’, you will probably not like this album because it is very offensive for some people. You can download the whole thing for free here… Oh yeah and FREE EARL!

For fans of: Nas, Early Eminem, Gravediggaz, Wu Tang

One Response to “Earl Sweatshirt – EARL”

  1. Aaron Germaine April 25, 2011 at 1:30 am #

    Very good review. I like how you noticed the whole fuck every thing and I don’t give a fuck mentality that EARL and OFWGKTA bring to the table. Great analysis Dylan.

Leave a Reply

